How-To

Users Tab Overview

Getting to know the User section of the Business Connect online account

The Users tab of your Business Connect Online account allows Administrators to edit the User's settings, update Roles and Permissions, edit User Groups and create Templates

Click on the links below to learn more about the Users tab of your Business Connect Online account.

User list - Displays the list of Users with Extensions and Unassigned Extensions. Under the User list Administrators can add or disable a User by clicking on the Add User button or Disable link.

Roles - Administrators may assign Roles to Users which has Permissions that is based on a job function.

User Groups - The Business Connect User Groups feature allows you to organize your users under a specific group to be managed by a single group manager.

Templates - Templates allow an Account Administrator to implement a set of configuration to multiple users at once through the Business Connect Online account, reducing repetitive actions by applying same settings to a group of users.

User list

The User list section displays the list of Users in your company. Administrators can select a User from the list and update their settings.

  • Users With Extensions - Displays Users with Extensions, allows Administrators to add a User, download the User list, and Disable Users. The User list also shows the status of the Users whether they have been Enabled or are Not Activated yet.

  • QUICK TIP: To download the User list click Download User List. The User list will be in excel format. Administrators can use this feature to create a company directory or to perform an audit of users.
  • Unassigned Extensions - View unassigned extensions, Assign an extension to a user, or Delete an unused extension.
  • User Details - Admins can change or update the User's information, User hours, time zone, and language settings in their online account. Under User Details, select the information you want to change.

Click on the links below to learn more on what you can do in the User List section:

Adding Multiple Extensions to your Business Connect Account Disabling/Enabling, Deleting Groups and Users Activating an Unassigned User Extension Updating the User Information and Details on your Business Connect Online account

Roles
User Roles give Admins the ability to control what users can do within the system, without giving full admin access. A Role is a collection of Permissions which could be based on a job function. Permissions are assigned to Roles and Roles are assigned to Users.
Predefined User Roles and Permissions feature is available to all Business Connect Office customers. Custom Roles and Permissions feature is available to Office Premium and Ultimate ONLY up to two (2) or more Users.

See User Roles and Permissions to learn more about this feature.

User Groups
The User groups feature allows you to organize your users under a specific group to be managed by a single group manager.
See User Groups Overview to learn more about his feature

See Also:Managing a User Group (shows how Group managers can log in to the Business Connect Online account to access or manage User groups).

Templates
Templates allow an Account Administrator to implement a set of configuration to multiple users at once through the Business Connect Online account, reducing repetitive actions by applying same settings to a group of users
See User Templates Overview to learn more about this feature.

See Also:
Extensions Frequently Asked Questions

Tell us what you think It's in our nature to listen. As TELUS.com/business continues to evolve, we'd love to hear more from you.